Theory

One of the most important quantities for the calculation the resistance of a component to the stress on torsion or bending is the area moment of inertia. It can be derived from the cross-section of a component. When dimensioning components, it is used to determine elastic deformations and thus ultimately their resilience. The geometrical moment of inertia must not be confused with the mass moment of inertia, which describes the inertia of a rotating body and its angular acceleration.


There are basically three types of area moments of inertia:


  • polar area moment of inertia

    describes the area moment of inertia of a surface around a point to be defined. The most important dimension in the cross-section is the expansion in the direction of the applied force.


  • axial moment of area

    describes the bending of a beam under load depending on the cross-section. The greater the value of the axial geometrical moment of inertia, the smaller the deflection and consequently the internal stresses occurring in the cross-section. Mathematically it can be proven that the axial area moment of inertia is always > 0.


  • biaxial moment of area

    is also known as the moment of area deviation, is used to calculate the deformation and the stresses in the case of loaded asymmetrical profiles or with asymmetrical loading, symmetrical (or any) profiles.

en_GBEnglish

Theorie

Eine der wichtigsten Größen für die Berechnung des Widerstandes eines Bauteiles gegenüber der Beanspruchung auf Torsion oder Biegung ist das Flächenträgheitsmoment. Es lässt sich aus dem Querschnitt eines Bauteils herleiten. Bei der Dimensionierung von Bauteilen dient es der Bestimmung von elastischen Verformungen und damit letztendlich deren Belastbarkeit. Das Flächenträgheitsmoment darf nicht mit dem Massenträgheitsmoment verwechselt werden, das die Trägheit eines rotierenden Körpers uns seiner Winkelbeschleunigung beschreibt.


Grundsätzlich unterscheidet man drei Arten von Flächenträgheitsmomenten:


  • polares Flächenträgheitsmoment

    beschreibt das Flächenträgheitsmoment einer Fläche um einen zu definierenden Punkt. Das wesentlichste Maß im Querschnitt ist dabei die Ausdehnung in der Richtung der angreifenden Kraft.


  • axiales Flächenträgheitsmoment

    beschreibt die Verbiegung eines Balkens unter Belastung in Abhängigkeit des Querschnitts. Je größer ist der Wert des axialen Flächenträgheitsmomentes, desto kleiner die Verbiegung und infolgedessen die im Querschnitt entstehenden inneren Spannungen. Mathematisch lässt es sich beweisen, dass das axiale Flächenträgheitsmoment stets >0 ist.


  • biaxiales Flächenträgheitsmoment

    wird auch als Flächendeviationsmoment bezeichnet, wird benutzt zur Berechnung der Verformung und der Spannungen bei belasteten asymmetrischen Profilen oder bei asymmetrischer Belastung symmetrischer (oder beliebiger) Profile.

de_DEGerman